’12 Years a Slave’ leads Gotham nominations


The Gotham Independent Film Awards rolled out its nominations today, with 12 Years a Slave leading the pack with three nominations, including Best Feature. Kicking off the awards season as one of the first major awards ceremonies, the Gotham Independent Film Awards highlight independent films and recognize breakthrough performances. This year’s awards added the Best Actor and Best Actress awards, and the winners will be announced Dec. 2.

Forest Whitaker and Richard Linklater will receive special tributes at the ceremony.

The nominations:

Best Feature 

12 Years a Slave

Ain’t Them Bodies Saints

Before Midnight

Inside Llewyn Davis

Upstream Color

Best Documentary

The Act of Killing

The Crash Reel

First Cousin Once Removed

Let the Fire Burn

Our Nixon

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station (The Weinstein Company)

Adam Leon for Gimme the Loot (Sundance Selects)

Alexandre Moors for Blue Caprice (Sundance Selects)

Stacie Passon for Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)

Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine (Factory 25) 

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Oscar Isaac in Inside Llewyn Davis (CBS Films)

Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)

Robert Redford in All Is Lost (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)

Isaiah Washington in Blue Caprice (Sundance Selects)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine (Sony Pictures Classics)

Scarlett Johansson in Don Jon (Relativity Media)

Brie Larson in Short Term 12 (Cinedigm)

Amy Seimetz in Upstream Color (erbp)

Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now (A24)

Breakthrough Actor

Dane DeHaan in Kill Your Darlings (Sony Pictures Classics)

Kathryn Hahn in Afternoon Delight (The Film Arcade and Cinedigm)

Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station (The Weinstein Company)

Lupita Nyong’o in 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Robin Weigert in Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)

Inside Movies | EW.com.