African-American Film Critics Association Names ’12 Years a Slave’ Best Picture


Los Angeles, CA (December 13, 2013) – The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has named 12 Years a Slave as the Best Picture of 2013.  The Fox Searchlight film’s also earned Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Newcomer honors for Steve McQueen, John Ridley and Lupita Nyong’o. The organization, which represents the leading African-American film critics nationwide, will formally present its awards during a private ceremony on Friday, January 31, 2014 hosted by Orlando Jones at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA. 

In the acting categories, Forest Whitaker won Best Actor for his performance in Lee Daniels: The Butler and Sandra Bullock was named Best Actress for Gravity. Oprah Winfrey received Best Supporting Actress 2013 for her role in The Butler and Jared Leto earned Best Supporting Actor 2013 for his performance in Dallas Buyers Club.

Rounding out the 2013 AAFCA Award winners are Fruitvale Station, for Best Independent Film, Freeze or Best Animated Feature; Mother of George, for Best World Cinema and American Promise, from Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson.  Producer Raphael Saadiq won in the Best Music category for Black Nativity.

The organization’s Top Ten list of films includes 12 Years a Slave, Lee Daniels: The Butler, Gravity, American Hustle and Mandela.  “Hollywood did an excellent job in providing filmgoers with excellent examples of cinema that examine the core of the humanity. We hope this trend continues,” says AAFCA’s East Coast V.P. Daryle Lockhart, owner of Black Box

The African-American Film Critics Association’s Top Ten Films of 2013 are as follows in order of distinction:

1. 12 Years a Slave

2. Lee Daniels: The Butler

3. Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

4. American Hustle

5. Gravity

6. Fruitvale Station

7.  Dallas Buyers Club

8. Saving Mr. Banks

9. Out of the Furnace

10. 42

Best Actor                               Forest Whitaker, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)

Best Actress                            Sandra Bullock, Gravity (Warner Bros.)

Best Supporting Actress         Oprah Winfrey, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)

Best Supporting Actor            Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)

Best World Cinema                Mother of George (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

Breakout Performance            Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Director                           Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Screenplay                      John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Music                              Raphael Sadiq, Black Nativity (RCA Inspirational)

Best Independent Film           Fruitvale Station (TWC)

Best Animation                       Frozen (Walt Disney Pictures)

Best Documentary                  American Promise (Rada Film Group)

Read more @ AAFCA.


One thought on “African-American Film Critics Association Names ’12 Years a Slave’ Best Picture

Comments, Comments Welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.