Gotham Awards Winners: Birdman Best Feature and more Oscar Buzz for Julianne Moore (Still Alice)


Full list of winners:

“Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, director; Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Richard Linklater, director; Richard Linklater, Cathleen Sutherland, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, producers (IFC Films)
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Wes Anderson, director; Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales, Jeremy Dawson, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
“Love Is Strange”
Ira Sachs, director; Lucas Joaquin, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)
“Under the Skin”
Jonathan Glazer, director; Nick Wechsler, James Wilson, producers (A24 Films)

Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Robert Greene, producers (The Cinema Guild)
Laura Poitras, director; Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky, producers (RADiUS, Participant Media, and HBO Documentary Films)

“Life Itself”
Steve James, director; Zak Piper, Steve James, Garrett Basch, producers (Magnolia Pictures and CNN Films)
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez, directors; Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Véréna Paravel, producers (The Cinema Guild)
“Point and Shoot”
Marshall Curry, director; Marshall Curry, Elizabeth Martin, Matthew Van Dyke, producers (The Orchard and American Documentary / POV)

Ana Lily Amirpour for “A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night” (Kino Lorber)
James Ward Byrkit for “Coherence” (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
Dan Gilroy for “Nightcrawler” (Open Road Films)
Eliza Hittman for “It Felt Like Love” (Variance Films)
Justin Simien for “Dear White People” (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)

Bill Hader in “The Skeleton Twins” (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)
Ethan Hawke in Boyhood (IFC Films)
Oscar Isaac in A Most Violent Year (A24 Films)
Michael Keaton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Miles Teller in Whiplash (Sony Pictures Classics)

* The 2014 Best Actor nominating panel also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award jointly to Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, and Channing Tatum for their ensemble performance in Foxcatcher (Sony Pictures Classics).

Patricia Arquette in Boyhood (IFC Films)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Beyond the Lights (Relativity Media)
Julianne Moore in Still Alice (Sony Pictures Classics)
Scarlett Johansson in Under the Skin (A24 Films)
Mia Wasikowska in Tracks (The Weinstein Company)


Riz Ahmed in “Nightcrawler” (Open Road Films)
Macon Blair in “Blue Ruin” (RADiUS)
Ellar Coltrane in “Boyhood” (IFC Films)
Joey King in “Wish I Was Here” (Focus Features)
Jenny Slate in “Obvious Child” (A24 Films)
Tessa Thompson in “Dear White People” (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)


Comments, Comments Welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.