All Hail Ryan Murphy, American Horror Story Renewed

Variety reports:

“American Horror Story” has been renewed by FX for a sixth installment set to debut in 2016, Variety has learned. The upcoming round of the anthology series has yet to land a theme or title.

The renewal comes in the midst of “American Horror Story: Hotel,” the fifth installment of the award-winning phenomenon, which is currently airing Wednesday nights.

Created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk, the “American Horror Story” franchise is the most-watched show in FX’s history.

Through four weeks, “American Horror Story: Hotel” was averaging a 3.7 rating in adults 18-49 and 6.9 million viewers overall in Nielsen’s “live plus-3” estimates, up 7% in the demo and 1% above the scores of “Freak Show” one year ago. It wins its Wednesday timeslot in same-day demo ratings over the broadcast network dramas (“Nashville,” “Chicago PD” and “Code Black”). The Oct. 7 premiere of “Hotel” was the second most-watched telecast in FX history, behind only the premiere of “AHS: Freak Show.”

“With the sixth installment coming next year, ‘American Horror Story’ has unquestionably joined the ranks of television’s landmark series,” John Landgraf, CEO of FX Networks and FX Productions, said on Tuesday. “From ‘Murder House’ to ‘Hotel,’ AHS has pioneered a new television form as well becoming FX’s highest rated show — while also pushing every conceivable boundary of creative excellence and audacity. This is even more remarkable because Ryan and co-creator Brad Falchuk tear up the playbook every year, challenging the entire creative team to come up with something even more spectacular, frightful and entertaining. You could not ask more of an artist, their team or a series and with every new installment they deliver.”

Murphy — who is also currently behind Fox’s “Scream Queens” and FX’s upcoming OJ Simpson project “American Crime Story” — serves as showrunner, exec producer, writer and director of “AHS: Hotel.” Falchuk serves as exec producer and writer. Tim Minear, Brad Buecker, Jennifer Salt, James Wong and Alexis Martin Woodall are also EPs. 20th Century Fox is the studio.

The current “Hotel” stars Lady Gaga, Sarah Paulson, Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Wes Bentley, Matt Bomer, Chloë Sevigny, Denis O’Hare, Cheyenne Jackson, Evan Peters and Finn Wittrock.


Comments, Comments Welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.