2014 BAFTAs: The Winners

BgoYthACMAEYx8f.jpg large

Best Film

12 Years a Slave
American Hustle
Captain Phillips

Outstanding British Film

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Saving Mr Banks
The Selfish Giant

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Colin Carberry, Glenn Patterson – Good Vibrations
Kelly Marcel – Saving Mr Banks
Kieran Evans – Kelly + Victor
Paul Wright, Polly Stokes – For Those in Peril
Scott Graham – Shell

Film Not in the English Language

The Act of Killing
Blue is the Warmest Colour
The Great Beauty
Metro Manila


The Act of Killing
The Armstrong Lie
Tim’s Vermeer
We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks

Animated Film

Despicable Me 2
Monsters University

Original Screenplay

Eric Warren Singer, David O Russell – American Hustle
Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine
Alfonso Cuarón, Jonas Cuarón – Gravity
Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
Bob Nelson – Nebraska

Adapted Screenplay

John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
Richard LaGravenese – Behind the Candelabra
Billy Ray – Captain Phillips
Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope – Philomena
Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street


Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
David O Russell – American Hustle
Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips
Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity
Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Leading Actor

Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Leading Actress

Amy Adams – American Hustle
Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Emma Thompson – Saving Mr Banks

Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Daniel Brühl – Rush
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Matt Damon – Behind the Candelabra
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Supporting Actress

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

Original Music

Hans Zimmer – 12 Years a Slave
John Williams – The Book Thief
Henry Jackman – Captain Phillips
Steven Price – Gravity
Thomas Newman – Saving Mr Banks


Sean Bobbitt – 12 Years a Slave
Barry Ackroyd – Captain Phillips
Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael – Nebraska


Joe Walker – 12 Years a Slave
Christopher Rouse – Captain Phillips
Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger – Gravity
Dan Hanley, Mike Hill – Rush
Thelma Schoonmaker – The Wolf of Wall Street

Production Design

Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker – 12 Years a Slave
Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler – American Hustle
Howard Cummings – Behind the Candelabra
Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard – Gravity
Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn – The Great Gatsby

Costume Design

Michael Wilkinson – American Hustle
Ellen Mirojnick – Behind the Candelabra
Catherine Martin – The Great Gatsby
Michael O’Connor – The Invisible Woman
Daniel Orlandi – Saving Mr Banks

Make Up & Hair

Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell – American Hustle
Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin – Behind the Candelabra
Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor, Candace Neal – The Butler
Maurizio Silvi, Kerry Warn – The Great Gatsby
Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug


Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg, Gillian Arthur – All is Lost
Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro, Oliver Tarney – Captain Phillips
Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri, Chris Munro – Gravity
Peter F Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff – Inside Llewyn Davis
Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler, Frank Kruse – Rush

Special Visual Effects

Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould, Nikki Penny – Gravity
Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Bryan Grill, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick – Iron Man 3
Hal Hickel, John Knoll, Lindy De Quattro, Nigel Sumner – Pacific Rim
Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton, Patrick Tubach, Roger Guyett – Star Trek Into Darkness

British Short Animation

Everything I Can See From Here
I Am Tom Moody
Sleeping With the Fishes

British Short Film

Island Queen
Keeping Up With the Joneses
Orbit Ever After
Room 8

EE Rising Star Award

Dane DeHaan
George Mackay
Lupita Nyong’o
Will Poulter
Léa Seydoux

Outstanding Contribution to British Cinema

Peter Greenaway


Comments, Comments Welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.